KARACHI: Democrats panel made a clean sweep in the Annual Elections-2016 of the Karachi Press Club held on Satruday clinching all top slots and Governing Body seats. According to results announced by Chief Election Commissioner Dr. Tausif Ahmed, Democrats candidate for President’s slot Fazil Jamili got 487 votes while his opponent Progressive panel’s Nizamuddin Siddiqui managed to secure 231 votes. While Democrats candidate A.H. Khanzada for Secretary’s slot received 538 votes and his opponent Progressive panel’s Ashraf Khan trailed behind with 228 votes.
Democrats’ candidate for the seat of Vice President Sajjad H. Abbasi
secured 456 votes, Treasurer M. Hanif Akbar 467 votes and candidate for Joint Secretary M. Rizwan Bhatti secured 500 votes. All the seven seats of Governing Body were also won by the Democrats panel. Its candidate Hina Mah Gul received 432 votes, Manzoor Chandio 358, Muhammad Ahmed 345, M. Siddiq Chaudhary 367, Nawab Qureshi 390, Shams Keerio 439 and Tariq Abul Hasan bagged 411 votes. The polling was conducted from 9 am to 5 pm at KPC premises. There were two panels in the run-the Democrats, with Fazil Jamili as its presidential candidate and the Progressive panel whose candidate for the post of president was Nizamuddin Siddiqui. According to KPC sources, there were 1,069 eligible voters-Agencies