KARACHI: The Sindh High Court (SHC) has granted protective bail to 74 Customs officers and officials; arrest warrants had been issued against them by Judicial Magistrate Lahore in a case engineered by Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) that pharmaceutical raw material was cleared without a certificate from Drug Regulatory Authority of Pakistan.

It was learnt that the above-mentioned Customs officers/officials including principal appraisers, appraisers and Examiners will now file a Constitution Petition in Lahore High Court against the proceedings against them.

They are consulting lawyers so their CP could be accepted in SHC because the imports involved in the case were made in Karachi. All these 74 officials were present before the SHC, where the Court accorded them Protective Bail.

Sources said that FBR authorities are in contact with FIA authorities so that the issue could be resolved amicably and a situation of conflict between institutions could be avoided. Tariq Bajwa is taking personal interest in this case.

The 76 accused Customs officials include Principal Appraisers Najmul Hassan Jamali, Manzoor Rajpar,Muzaffar Razvi, Zahid Parvaiz, Bahadar Khan, Razia Sultana Bhutto, Murtaza Yaar Khan, Iqbal Hussain, Naseeruddin Humayun, Muhammad Iqbal, Qumaruddin Smaicho, Aga Muhammad Aslam, Jawed Ahsan, Jamshaid Ali Khan, Bashir Abbas Bukhari, Jalaluddin, Liaquat Ali, Islam Jan Marwat, Aftab Hussain, Abdul Majeed, Sikandar Ali Janejo, Madan Lal, Sayeed Irshad Ali Shah, Meer Mansoor Ahmad, Noor Muhammad Panhor, Ahmad Nawaz and Ghulam Muhammad.

The appraising officers (AO) included Abdul Aziz, SM Sohail, Noor Muhammad Kalwar, Amir Ahmad Samon, Akhtar Ali Jamali, Meer Alam Khattak, M Qadeer Khan, Sayed Zameer, Altaf Ali Chandio, Laique Ahmad Shah, S Zaighum Abbas, Zafar Shabbir, Mansoor Ahmad Meer, Sana Ullah Abbasi, Aziz Sarwar, Muhammad Ahmad, Abid Hussain Shah, Zaighum Abbas Khawar, Abdul Rasheed Khan, Rao Muhammad Aslam, Muhammad Nazir, Rai Iftikhar, Noor Muhammad Niazi, Raja Waseem, Rai Fayyaz Ahmad, Thimor Khan, Muhammad Waseem, Ameer Ahmad Sammo, Muhammad Akram, Muhammad Anjum Barkzai, Abdul Aziz, Jawed Khalid, Ali Akbar, Zulfiqar Sheikh, Saiful Rahee, Mirza Irfan Baig, Ch Ghulam Asghar and Manzoor.

Similarly, examining officers (EO) include Salman Bukhari, Syed Farhan Mehdi, Riffat Ali, Shahid Hameed, Akhtar Hussain Wahla, Ms Nazia Hussain, Sayed Imtiaz Hussain, Noshad Ali, Khizra Saeed and Muhammad Ajmal.