KARACHI: The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) has withdrawn sales tax exemption on electricity supply to about 17 units registered with tax offices in Karachi, Lahore and Gujranwala, said sales tax general orders issued on Wednesday.
The following units have been disallowed from sales tax exemption:
1. Shahnawaz Textile Mills Ltd
2. Shahraj Fabrics
3. Taj Textile Mills Ltd
4. Hammad Cotton Waste Factory
5. K.T Surgical
6. Sunlike Industries
7. Exquisite Textile Industries
8. Fabrica
9. GIA Associates (Pvt) Ltd
10. Mateen Corporation
11. Modern Fabrics (Pvt) Ltd
12. Noorani & Co
13. Syncotex Agencies
14. Faisal Shehzad Weaving Mills (Pvt) Ltd
15. Shan Tex
16. Burraq Knits
17. Asif Industries
Inland Revenue Wing of FBR requested the Chief Commissioner of Regional Tax Office (RTO), Karachi, Large taxpayer Unit, Lahore, and RTO Gujranwala & Sialkot to coordinate in implementation of aforesaid amendments in the general order by the authorities for their respective registered person.
The tax officials informed KESC, LESCO and GEPCO authorities, “With request to start charging sales tax on the supply of electricity to units mentioned above with immediate effect.