KARACHI: The Federal Board of Revenue FBR) has notified promotions of BS-19 officers of Pakistan Customs Service into BS-20.

As many as 21 BS-19 officers have been promoted including Dr. Ahmed Mujtaba Memon, Dr Kamal Azhar Minhas, Abdul Basit Ch, M Zubair Yousafani, Muhammad Aamir, Dr Farid Iqbal Qureshi, Dr Saifuddin Junejo, Syed Hamid Ali, Zulfiqar Younis, Ms Seema Raza Bukhari, M Ali Raza Hanjra,Dr M Saeed Khan Jadoon, Ashhad Jawwad, Zafar Akhtar, Ch Muhammad Javed, Irfan-ur-Rehman Khan, Muhammad Junaid Jalil Khan, Ms Shazia Ikram, Saeed Akram, Muhammad Yaqoob Mako and Syed Shakil Shah.

It may be mentioned here that Director Afghan Transit Trade (ATT) Wajid Ali was recommended for promotion into BS-20 by the Central Selection Board, but due to his one-year ex-Pakistan leave, his name did not come up in the list of promoted officers.

Wajid Ali is counted among highly reputed and competent officers and his promotion was not deferred nor he was superseded. As per the requirement of Establishment Division, his one-year ACR was not completed. After his return from leave and joining the office, Wajid Ali had served only nine months so far. His case will be taken up in the upcoming meeting.

Sources said that the promotion of BS-20 officers into BS-21 would be notified shortly.